jump to navigation

Takahashi Ai is Adorable September 17, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Hello! Project, Jpop, Morning Musume, Takahashi Ai.
Tags: ,
trackback

Not exactly shocking news, is it? Next thing you know I’ll be telling you about how fire is hot and how the sky is blue, but also sometimes black! 😀

Recently Ai-chan performed Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai! from her graduation commemorative edition of Morning Musume’s 47th single Kono Chikyū no Heiwa o Honki de Negatterun da yo!/Kare to Issho ni Omise ga Shitai! *gasp* on Coming Soon!! If you haven’t already seen it, you can watch her performance here:.

In another piece of incredibly surprising news, she of course blows it out of the water. What really caught my eye though happened at the very end, after her performance itself had concluded. She, a professional idol who has been performing in-front of people for over a decade, giggled at her own performance:

I’ve already watched that clip at least a few dozen times by now, but I still can’t help but smile a little bit every time I see it. She puts on this cool and confident persona while she’s on stage, but as soon as it’s over she immediately reverts back. It’s just so incredibly endearing that after so much experience, and obvious skill at her trade, she is still so humble. Some of this might come from the fact that she is simply more comfortable performing in a group along with the other Morning Musume girls rather than solo like she is here.

Speaking of performing with the other Morning Musume girls, as of the time of writing, Ai-chan has less than two weeks left with the group. I’m really having a hard time wrapping my head around that. I can’t even begin to imagine what Morning Musume would even sound like without Ai-chan since her vocals have been so prominent for the last six years.

While I do look forward to seeing Risa finally become leader, it’s going to be bittersweet at best.

Comments»

1. isilwentari - September 18, 2011

That was definitely adorable. The funny thing is, I sort-of expected that based on how shy (for lack of a better word) her personality is. I don’t know why, but she always seems a bit embarrassed at the sort of attention she should be used to by now. I can’t believe it’s only two weeks to go! o_0 I love her solo and that performance was awesome. Doesn’t it kinda remind you of Yaguchi’s ‘seishun’ song?

Nights4Saturn - September 20, 2011

I guess I just didn’t expect her to be quite so shy about it, though I do agree that it would have been far more extraordinary if she was confident afterwards!

I can see what you mean. That Yaguichi song is a bit similar in composition and pacing, but their two singing voices are so different!


Leave a Reply

