jump to navigation

In Which Morning Musume’s Ikuta Erina Finally Takes Part in the Most Honored of Idol Traditions September 8, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Hello! Project, Morning Musume.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I am of course talking about nothing other than shilling stuff on TV.

Idols such as Moritaka Chisato has sold everything from telephones to vodka and even Matsuura Aya has sold items ranging from gas scooters to ice tea. Now while they might be soloists, Morning Musume members are no strangers to being pitch(wo)men either. Members such as Goto Maki* and Fujimoto Miki* have both appeared in commercials of their own.

So I present to you the Oha Girls’ CM for the Miracle Spin Baton:

So wait, the “Miracle Set” comes with not only the Miracle Spin Baton but a bag for your baton and a scrunchie!?! Holy cow, sign me up! 😀

As a bit of background: Ikuta joined the children’s television show Oha Star’s Oha Girls as a replacement for S/mileage’s Ogawa Saki after her abrupt graduation. I must say I’m rather impressed that awkward little Ikuta was chosen for this position. I think this will be a great opportunity for her to become more comfortable with being outgoing in front of a camera, not to mention getting some quality exposure for herself away from Momusu proper (where she is admittedly overshadowed). Even in the last 3/4 of a year since she has joined she has made some very noticeable gains in regards to her on-camera presentation so I’ll definitely be looking forward to how her participation her can help her improve even more. That being said she also needs to work on her Miracle Spin Baton spinning technique! Shiori (the one in blue with the ponytail) is totally showing Ikuta up with her one-handed spinning style!

As a note about the commercial itself, I must say I find it quite amusing in no small part due to the fact that I can actually understand all the dialog in it. Something that shouldn’t necessarily be taken as a compliment to my Japanese language skills!😀

* Yes, I know both of them were also soloists at one time as well. Maybe that’s foreshadowing for Ikuta? Ehhhhhh, maybe not… ><

Comments»

1. Takoyaki - September 8, 2011

Do you know since when Ikuta Erina knows how to twirl baton?

Nights4Saturn - September 10, 2011

I can’t say I do. It might have been pretty recent if it was just for this show as she hasn’t been affiliated with it for that long.

2. MTSayuRin - September 13, 2011

Thank you for sharing, I hadn’t seen this CM before. This is great for Eripon, I’m happy she can be part of this!🙂 Only too bad she didn’t have as much screen time as the other girls. I think they have been in Oha Girls for quite a while though?

Nights4Saturn - September 14, 2011

I’m really happy for her as well! Even though she might be someone’s replacement it’s still really lucky for her to have her own gig outside of MM so early.

If the other two girls joined when Saki did then they’ve been there since April of last year.


Leave a Reply

