jump to navigation

Matsuura Aya Reveals That She Suffers From Endometriosis August 30, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Matsuura Aya.
trackback

You can read the official Up-Front statement here.
The official Ayaway statement here.
Translations of both announcements by sferris here.

Comment by Matsuura Aya translated by sferris:

To all you fans, thank you for your constant support.

I have something I would like to share with you.

This has been going on for about 4 years now. Every now and then, while in my every day routine, I would get stomach pains. After consulting with a physician, I was diagnosed with endometriosis. Upon discussing with my staff, I decided in 2009 to take a “2-3 year break from doing concerts”.

I continued to do research on my own and found that there are many others just like me who are suffering from the same condition. However, I found out that instead of treating the condition, they just ignore it and allow the condition to worsen. I hope that by sharing this I can help inform a lot of other women about this condition. If you are worried about the possibility of this at all, I highly recommend that you visit the hospital as soon as possible.

For me, these types of personal problems are a very delicate matter, so only people really close to me have known about this throughout my years of activity, however this year marks the 10th anniversary of my debut and is an important year for me and my fans. Despite hearing what everyone had to say, I can’t just stop everything though! Right ♥ So I will do my best to continue my activities without pushing myself too hard.

I apologize for making my fans worry.
I hope you can understand and please continue to support me from here on just like before.

Matsuura Aya

Apparently “endometriosis is a condition in which the tissue that behaves like the cells lining the uterus (endometrium) grows in other areas of the body, causing pain, irregular bleeding, and possible infertility.” While I certainly understand the individual meaning of those words, seeing them together in that context is something I cannot fathom. I really can’t as I have no base to stand on. I think the most unsettling thing is the rather wide spectrum of symptoms, from just discomfort to complete infertility.😦

Aya certainly hasn’t had the best of luck with her health. Back in 2006 she took a small break due to temporomandibular joint disorder and in 2009 she had to reduce the impact of her activities due to a broken toe (if you’ve ever wondered why she was stationary during the PV for Chocolate Damashii that was the reason). While obviously her broken toe was a temporary condition, I also still worry about her temporomandibular joint disorder since there literally has been no statement about it since 2006. Does she still suffer from this? I frankly have no idea. I’d hate to think she’s been dealing with both of these conditions simultaneously now.

Still, this isn’t completely gloom and doom. As it’s stated, this isn’t a new condition, and it’s something she’s been living with for the past two years. Over that time she’s been a regular cast member on a television show, released an album, and done a few other associated jobs, so she is apparently living with this condition with some degree of success. I think we can take a bit of comfort in that.

I also can’t help but wonder if the timing of this announcement has to do with all of the rumors regarding her supposed affair with Tachibana Keita, as this certainly puts much of the supposed “evidence” for that in an entirely new context. Evidence such as her lull in activities recently as there hasn’t even been any paparazzi photographs or anything else of the like in years. Her assertion that she won’t be retiring is certainly reassuring to me as a fan. I personally would have no problem if she were to take a spouse, but I couldn’t imagine how crushed I would be if she were to officially retire. Although, considering this it certainly seems more than a bit selfish of me to feel that way.

Truthfully, thinking about her having to deal with this makes me feel a little sick to my stomach. Gosh darn it Aya, GET BETTER!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

