jump to navigation

One Year of Blogging! March 31, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Blog Stuff.
trackback

Yesterday, the 30th of March, marked one year of Nights4Blogging!

Honestly, I never really thought I’d ever write such a thing. I made my first post with a bit of a disclaimer that I may abandon this blog at any moment, and that’s because I honestly thought I wouldn’t last more than three months tops. But here I am. Twelve months later. Surprised would almost be an understatement!

I was inspired to start Nights4Blogging after reading the H!P and Jpop fanblogs of others.  I really enjoyed reading them (and still do), but this really wasn’t enough to force me start one on my own.  I actually had three main objectives that I wanted to achieve, and I thought that starting a blog would be a good way to achieve them.

  1. Find Something to do on my Free Time
  2. I had it great a year ago. I had an apartment that was literally a five minute walk from any of my classes. Fridays off. Classes that ended at 10AM every Tuesday and Thursday. It was fantastic, and I had a heck of a lot of free time, so I figured that a blog would be a decent use of that time.

    Unfortunately, I have never since had a schedule or living arrangements quite that convenient, but at least I’ve kept up with the writing. I’d even go so far as to say that I’ve actually been doing a bit better now than I was then. Only three updates in all of May 2010? Yeesh.

  3. Find Someplace to Contain my “Fangasms”
  4. I try not to bring up H!P and Jpop too often with my everyday friends out of the courtesy that they probably don’t care all that much. Or at all, really. So I fangasm here instead.

  5. Try to be More Eloquent About said “Fangasms”
  6. While related to the previous point, I’ve always been rather disappointed in my own ability to describe why something is so fantastic/awesome/transcendently great. While I am reasonably pleased with the progress I have made towards this goal, it is still definitely a work in progress. Even in my last post about Morning Musume’s “Maji Desu ka Ska!” I think I should have been able to be more descriptive.

So enough of that boring stuff and onto some cold hard numbers:

  • 9006 Total Views
  • 83 Posts
  • 172 Comments
  • Busiest Day was October 2nd with 203 Views (Thanks IW!)

And what were the top 5 posts?

  1. AKB48’s Heavy Rotation PV: Is there such a thing as too much fan service? – 1549 Views
  2. A bit more on Takahashi Ai’s graduation – 158 Views
  3. Morning Musume — Onna to Otoko no Lullaby Game (Close-Up Version) – 156 Views
  4. The Weight of an Idol, Part 1 – 151 Views
  5. New Morning Musume Profile Pics! – 145 Views

Despite the massive skew in the total number of views per post, I actually am pretty happy about those top three posts being the most viewed.  I think they stand as some of the better examples of my writing, and if people were to see that as their first exposure, then hey, that’s alright.  Not too excited about #4 up there, though.  I still am rather unhappy with how that article came out.  Also number 5 was about the “Seishun Collection” costumes, which certainly aren’t new anymore.

How about top five search terms?

  1. akb48 – 269 Hits
  2. tomomi itano – 93 Hits
  3. akb48 heavy rotation – 63 Hits
  4. morning musume – 53 Hits
  5. nights4blogging – 41 Hits

Well, that certainly explains my top viewed post a bit, doesn’t it?

Oh, and so do all of these…

  • akb48 bikini – 36 Hits
  • akb48 naked – 29 Hits
  • akb48 lingerie – 24 Hits
  • akb48 sex – 22 Hits
  • tomomi itano sex – 6 Hits
  • akb48 up skirt – 6 Hits
  • akb48 undressing – 4 Hits
  • akb48 cream fight – 2 Hits

I can’t help but feel that my little blog disappointed most of those people. Those perverted, perverted people.😀 I do admit I kinda like that last one. No idea what it’s referring to, though.

And then there are the weird search terms:

  • santa claus peeping tom – 2 Hits
  • sudden undress – 2 Hits
  • peeping tom seeing womens – 2 Hits
  • im watching you – 2 Hits
  • thomas berry – 2 Hits
  • 34 – 2 Hits

I know the “peeping tom” queries are for a referral I made about peeping toms in my post on “Heavy Rotation,” but I can’t help but be a little creeped out that MULTIPLE people are searching for “santa claus peeping tom.” Ewwww.

Oh, and then there are those I wouldn’t even think of reposting. Seriously, some are more than a little disgusting.

And on that note I’d like to thank you, my readers. 😀

I jest, but really, thank you guys. I really do appreciate it every time someone posts a comment, and I try to make a conscious effort to respond to every one. It makes writing considerably more enjoyable when I can get some feedback, and I find that a healthy dialog can really help expand a post far beyond what I had originally wrote, one thing I think my “Heavy Rotation” post really does exemplify.

So here’s to year number two!

Comments»

1. clocutron - March 31, 2011

Congrats on the 1-year mark! Looking forward to another year.

Btw, what’s with the search term “34”?

2. jltos - April 1, 2011

Yay, congrats! My blog will be celebrating its first birthday later this year. …I never get pervy search terms like that.😄

3. isilwentari - April 1, 2011

Congrats!! Keep up the good work! I love reading here. Blogging as an ‘art’ is ever developing, so just keep doing things your own way. Keep enjoying it! I blog for the same reasons really, minus the free-time thing. If only I could fangasm with my non-internet friends (love that term btw)! ^_^ Cheers to another year!

4. Nights4Saturn - April 2, 2011

@clocutron: Thanks! I’m pretty stumped as to how “34” got on there too. I referenced a tweet from 1:34, so maybe that’s what they were linked to? Still, “34” is a heck of an odd query.

@jltos: Thanks, and a preemptive congrats to you as well! =D You’re pretty lucky you don’t get any of those nasty queries, as I find it kind of unsettling that people find there way here looking for those things. =\

@isilwentari: Thanks so much! I’ve gotten fairly comfortable with just being able to write, but every once in a while I’ll still look at a post and think, “Well, that’s junk. Meh.” *presses publish anyway*😄

Well, the free-time argument really was temporary, and out of all my objectives I think it was the worst fulfilled! I neglected this place pretty bad in May and June…

I’ve heard that term somewhere else (albeit I don’t remember exactly where), and I thought it was a pretty good description of what I do on here most of the time…😄

MTSayuRin - April 2, 2011

I do get some pretty hilarious ones though, such as “projecthello’s translations suck” and “is the face of mao inoue round”. Oh and a recent one: “jltos is awesome”.😄 Too bad I just changed my username (I wonder if it can be seen here now.)

5. squatterbike - May 9, 2011

Holy crap your blog’s birthday is my birthday!😀

Nights4Saturn - May 12, 2011

Happy belated birthday!

6. Takoyaki - July 16, 2011

Please post the weird search terms! Just for the fun lol

If you have plenty of free time, join MSP and help us to sub more Aya videos hahaha (/joke)
(there are still plenty of perfs still unsubbed though and will remain like that sadly (and since I’m going on hiatus, I guess it won’t help the situation lol)).

And congrats for the 1rst anniversary of Nights4Blogging!
Keep posting analysises!

Nights4Saturn - July 16, 2011

The ones I didn’t post were really pretty graphic, and also strangely specific. Like two specific people doing a specific action with a specific object regarding a specific part of their respective bodies. I mean, really? Does anyone actually expect to find that?

You’re going on hiatus? How come?

Oh, and thanks!😀

7. Takoyaki - July 16, 2011

I keep wondering how they found you blog with such key words. Creepy.
Indeed, I’ll be on indefinite hiatus starting from this Tuesday/Wednesday (even concerning about my subs but I already sent some to Matt in advance) and I don’t know when I’ll be back due to some personnal reasons (also because holidays are coming) (but don’t worry, it means that I’ll stop to harass your blog with long replies😉 )

Nights4Saturn - July 16, 2011

I wonder that myself…😄

Aww, that’s a shame you’ll be gone for a bit. Do try to hurry back, though!

I think responding to your comments has been the most writing I’ve done on this blog in quite a while, and that’s certainly not a bad thing!

Takoyaki - July 18, 2011

🙂

I wanted to ask you some questions as blogger.
When you look back the old posts you wrote before (and even for your first post of Nights4Blogging) what do you feel?
Do you think the way you wrote your posts was what you wanted or or do you think you could have written more (with more details) or written less (just the main points)?
Do you think when you add some pictures in a post, this would attract more the reader or do you think the reader would be interested just by the title/content of your post?
Do you consider a post should do a quotas of lines before its publication? And if after all you noticed you wrote a really long post, what is your reaction: to leave it like that or to shorten it?
Do you think when you’re publishing your posts, it might change the opinion of your readers or do you consider that your posts will be read as just one opinion among all the comments on the web?

Nights4Saturn - July 19, 2011

1. I’m a little embarrassed by my first handful of posts as I find them to be a little awkward. Other than that, I don’t think I’ve been blogging long enough such that when I look back at my older posts I feel different about them. Oh, I do cringe when I see old grammatical mistakes!

2. Generally I’ve been striving to be far more detailed in my analysis of what I write about. I don’t think I’ve ever had a post that I’ve thought went too in-depth, and I think some of my favorite posts are the ones where I tried as hard as I could to be as in-depth as possible. I think I still have quite a bit of progress to make on this point.

3. Oh, I definitely think pictures attract the reader. Japanese female pop idols, by virtue of their very nature, are quite picturesque. Ask yourself, would you rather look at a giant wall of text, or a giant wall of text broke up into two medium walls of text by Aya’s beautiful smiling visage?

Titles are important too, and the content is what brings people back, but I think having a nice looking article and layout is how you get people to bite in the first place.

4. I don’t necessarily think a post needs a quota of lines. I generally don’t like posting very short articles (though, I have on several occasions) , but I’d rather the post get to the point and not be overly verbose and boring.

As for being too long, I can’t say I’ve ever written a post I felt to be too long text wise. I did once cut a few gifs from my post on Morning Musume’s Maji Desu ka Ska! a few months back over bandwidth concerns.

5. The things I write about in my blog are things that i deeply enjoy, and I try to go into the reasons as to why I enjoy them so much. If several people can catch a bit of my enthusiasm, or come to see why I think something is so great I would be greatly honored. As to if I’m capable of doing that, I am rather doubtful. I certainly hope that I don’t influence people the other way, though!

To turn the tables a bit, I have a question for you too. What do you think of my header image? The computers I use to make this blog are all rather high resolution so everything looks rather small, including the header. The problem is, that when I view my blog on another lower resolution display I find myself taken aback by how massive her eyes appear!

8. Takoyaki - July 19, 2011

Thanks for your reply.

Concerning your header, at first I was like “creepy stare”! lol
(“Big brother is watching you!” lol)

I took a screencap from my computer, in this way you’ll see what I usually can see:
http://imageshack.us/f/683/nights4saturnwordpressc.jpg/

Maybe when you have some free time, as suggestion maybe you should do rotating headers because in this way you would be able able to add more headers instead of one (in addition as you’re supporting several idols) and with one header it might give the feeling to your new readers that your blog is dedicated to one Idol.
But it’s only a suggestion ^^;;

An example of blog using the system of rotative headers when your changing pages:
http://www.dramabeans.com/
(But concerning the case of this blog, the one who send headers to the admin are the readers, so the owner of this blog has the freedom to choose the best fan made headers: http://www.dramabeans.com/about/headers/ )

Nights4Saturn - July 19, 2011

Thanks for the screen shot! For comparison, if your computer has about a 15″ screen, you’re seeing everything 50% bigger than I am!

I’d love to be able to do auto-rotating headers, but that feature isn’t supported on this blog theme. =\ WordPress has had some neat new themes come out over the last couple of months, so changing isn’t out of the question, though.

Still, I do need a new header(s). Maybe I could hold some kind of contest for people to submit them, as I’m not very good at Photoshop/Gimp myself?

Takoyaki - July 20, 2011

Very good idea!
Maybe your readers can indeed suggest you some new header(s)🙂


Leave a Reply

