jump to navigation

Morning Musume – Maji Desu ka Ska! March 28, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Hello! Project, Jpop, Morning Musume.
trackback

Next week on April 6th Morning Musume will be releasing their 45th single “Maji Desu ka Ska!” and just last night we had the privilege to finally see the entire PV. Take a look!

I really do love this PV. It’s just so darn happy and upbeat. Two qualities I absolutely adore about idol music compared to pretty much everything else. It doesn’t have to be serious, stand for anything, heck, it doesn’t even matter that I can’t understand what they’re saying. It’s happy. And that’s more than enough.

So, lets take a look at the PV itself!

How great of an opening is that? I love how the pan shows us all the different members scattered throughout the actual kana of the title, and that’s before the song even starts! Very nifty.

Having the kana in the background during the PV itself is also a nice touch, as it gives it an element to draw your attention. It seems that they’ve gone back to the indistinct/infinite white room setting that was used in part of the dance shot of “Onna to Otoko no Lullaby Game,” although I certainly wouldn’t call it a bad thing.

I almost want to call Ikuta the “Melancholy Musume” as she always looks so serious. Whether it be on TV, or even in the PV. I imagine the “seriousness” here comes from her concentration on keeping up with the choreography, but as you can tell, she really does look miles better with a smile on her face. Hopefully it won’t take her too long to become comfortable with all their routines!

That is one heck of a lucky ス.

I’m sorry Sayu, but you’ve completely failed at being cute here. That isn’t to say you haven’t absolutely succeeded at being something else entirely.

I, for one, look forward to more such failures in the future!😀

Risa is just so awesome. There really isn’t much more to it than that.

I can’t tell you how badly I wanted to make a gif of this scene. Unfortunately, the scene cuts away right after she lands, thus turning any attempt I made into a weird, jerky looking mess.

Still, that shouldn’t take away any of greatness of this little scene. She jumps in front of the exclamation point. Why? Because it’s so exciting!😄

I honestly had no idea why the heck Aika was dressed up as an old man, but thanks to Jltos appearently she’s supposed to be Hanasaka Jiisan, an old man from a folk tale who made flowers bloom. Are those supposed to be the ashes of his dog?

Yeah, still weird…

Really, if I had any complaint about this song and PV it would be that all the quick cuts made it hard to make any decent gifs. Though, I don’t think anyone would actually consider that a real demerit, instead of me just being whiny that half of my gifs turned out funny. Hopefully the dance shot versions will be a bit more stable, as I’d love to make a few gifs of the choreography; it’s really quite neat.

Oh, and it could use more Risa, but then again everything could. 😛

PS: I apologize to those of you with slow connections!

Comments»

1. jltos - March 28, 2011

I didn’t know about Hanasaka Jiisan before either, but Sayu mentioned the tale in her blog. It makes more sense now but still a bit weird. ^^

I agree on the kana (really nice idea!) and Eripon. At first I thought, she looked like she’d changed her mind and wasn’t happy to be in Momusu. But it’s just her personality like that. Nice gif!

I saw one gif of that Aichan jump, someone posted it on H!O, but it had Aichan disappearing in the air in the middle of the jump.😄

Nights4Saturn - March 30, 2011

I think watching Eripon struggle a bit has made me actually take a bit more of an interest in her compared to the others in the 9th gen. Like in a cheering her on to do better kind of way. Which is probably exactly what was intended! ><

Yeah, that's the best I could get either with scene of Aichan jumping, and I didn't bother posting it because it just seemed too awkward. Until they release another cut of the PV with a bit more of the landing that's the best that will be possible.

2. Maji Desu ka Ska! Reactions (Part One) « International Wota - March 30, 2011

[…] Ska: Half n’ Half. (New School Kaidan) Morning Musume – Maji Desu ka Ska! (Nights4Blogging) This Momusu is for real! (Janakya […]


Leave a Reply

