jump to navigation

The Earthquake and Tsunami in Sendai March 11, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I am sure most, if not all, of you already know that the Japanese city of Sendai has been hit with an magnitude 8.9 earthquake, the largest ever to affect Japan. The quake and resulting tsunamis have devastated the northern portion of the country.

Compared to most other Americans I am probably a lot more sensitive to what happens on that funny little island across the sea, but the devastation that has occurred is truly flabbergasting and should be brought to the attention of all. Watching buildings shake, cars being tossed around like children’s toys, and entire buildings floating across farm land while aflame is truly surreal. It’s almost like watching scenes out of a big budget action movie, except here there is no real-life Snake Plissken to save the day.

I admit that when I first heard the news my thoughts immediately went to the safety of my favorite idols. Fortunately, most if not all of them appear to be safe. I would like to extend my condolences to all of Japan. I hope you and all of your loved ones are safe and for a speedy recovery.

Comments»

1. clocutron - March 12, 2011

Yeah, I suppose most of us j-pop fans have paid more attention to this than the average American. You’re right the videos I’ve seen of the situation are surreal or, when you try to grasp the reality, very difficult to watch.

Btw, love the Escape from New York reference. The one of my all-time favorite films.

2. isilwentari - March 12, 2011

I keep saying that I’m not going to freak out and then I go on Twitter or another site and read more and more. I don’t have any relatives there, so my first thought was with idols too. Natural, I guess? Let’s keep hoping for the best.

3. Nights4Saturn - March 13, 2011

@clocutron: There is one video of the flood waters raging across a village and you can actually see the people trying to outrun it in their vehicles. Hard to watch is almost an understatement.

I actually (rather morbidly) had the scene were Snake surfs the tsunami from Escape From L.A. stuck in my head when I started writing that sentence. I do admit that Escape From New York is a better picture, though.

@isilwentari: I certainly think it’s natural that our first thoughts went out to our idols. I guess in a sense they could be considered part of are our “loved ones” after all.

I too hope that things will start to look up.


Leave a Reply

