jump to navigation

The Other Side of Aya: Enkyori no Renai (遠距離の恋愛) February 20, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Hello! Project, Jpop, Matsuura Aya.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Today, I wanted to take a look at “Enkyori no Renai” the coupling track of “♥Momoiro Kataomoi♥,” Aya’s best selling single, released on the 2nd of February 2002:

Romaji Lyrics:

koibito ni narenai mama ne
kono mama nara kitto muri ne
hontou no koto iwanai ienai
hikkoshi suru mitai watashi

hanarete shimattara
sugu ni aenaku naru
hanarete shimattara
chikai ko ga ii desho?

anata wa
nanni mo shiranakute ii
watashi ni furareta dake na no yo
nanni mo shiranai hou ga ii wa…

sore na no ni denwa shitai
ima ijou ni suki ni naru wa

waza to tsumetai kotoba
tsukatteru no ni anata
yasashiku shite kureru
yasashiku shite kureru

futari wa
doushite deatta no yo
motto iroiro shiritakatta
doushite deatta no yo doushite…

LaLaLa…
Mmm…
LaLaLa…

futari wa
doushite deatta no yo
motto iroiro shiritakatta
doushite deatta no yo doushite…

Translated Lyrics:

Looks like we can’t hook up
Surely it’s impossible now
I won’t tell you the truth; I can’t
It looks like I’m moving

If I go far away
I won’t be able to see you soon
If I go far away
You’d prefer a closer girl, right?

You
Don’t need to know anything
Just that we’ve broken up
It’s better that you don’t know anything

Even so, I want to call you
I love you even more now

I talk to you coldly on purpose
But you
You’re so nice to me
You’re so nice to me

The two of us
Why did we meet?
I wanted to know more about you
Why did we meet, why…

LaLaLa…
Mmm…
LaLaLa…

The two of us
Why did we meet?
I wanted to know more about you
Why did we meet, why…

Romaji and translated lyrics from ProjectHello

Out of all of Aya’s B-sides I’ve covered so far, this one is easily my favorite. It has a very “cool” air to it, certainly contrasting starkly to “♥Momoiro Kataomoi♥.” I especially love the part where she starts to hum. It’s simple, but I think it just adds so much to the song in terms of atmosphere.

I would actually really like to see Aya take another stab at performing this song today. It’s far more mature than many of her other earlier works, and I think it would certainly benefit from the greater control that she has gained over her voice in the years since her debut. That isn’t to say that she doesn’t sound good here, in fact quite the opposite, especially considering that she was fifteen when this song was recorded!

Comments»

1. Takoyaki - July 18, 2011

Her stare in the video frightened me lol


Leave a Reply

