jump to navigation

How do you ruin a year? January 9, 2011

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Hello! Project, Jpop, Morning Musume, Takahashi Ai.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

That’s a good question for you. How could one possibly ruin a year?

I was pretty darn excited for Morning Musume this year. Four new members who all seem pretty solid, how could one not be excited?

So, how can one kill such excitement in an instant? Announce that Takahashi Ai will be graduating at the end of this year’s Fall tour.

I don’t hide the fact that I’m pretty fond of Ai-chan. I really like her. A lot. I also knew that this was going to happen. It had to, eventually. But why now?

Seriously. Isn’t four new members enough of a roster change for this year? We haven’t seen any new members since 2007. It’s a big enough deal in and of itself. Also, why the HECK did this have to be announced only NINE DAYS into this year? This news is going to be hanging over my head for the next twelve months. How can I enjoy the new generation if I’m constantly counting down the remaining months/singles/concerts Ai has left?

Now, I admit I’m being a bit melodramatic. The year hasn’t been entirely ruined. I still am really interested in seeing the ninth gen. and what they’ll bring to the group. I really am, but the magic, that sense of enthusiasm, has certainly been curbed by quite a bit. I just figured (horribly incorrectly, I might add) that after that last mass graduation we’d be safe for a little while…😦

Comments»

1. isilwentari - January 9, 2011

I am in a similar place. It’s a big deal and frankly, it will take some getting used to. Let’s hope the 9th gen will step up, eh? And hey, Gokkies will still be leading.😄

Nights4Saturn - January 9, 2011

I admit I’m pretty psyched to know that Risa will finally be leader, and that also makes me feel like a jerk… ><

This post was kind of a knee jerk reaction, but still, a Morning Musume without Ai-chan? Weird.

2. jltos - January 10, 2011

If it makes you feel any less of a jerk, I’m a huge Aichan fan and at the same time, I’m really excited for Sayu becoming subleader… ><

As for your post… I'm glad they announce it early. It was expected she was going to leave soon anyway, and this way I can be sure she won't be going anywhere for at least nine months. Nine months is a long time, so it feels… safe? In a way. I'll miss Aichan so much but right now, I'm just glad that she is still there.

3. Bloggers Have Their Say on Takahashi Ai’s Graduation Announcement (Part 1) « International Wota - January 12, 2011

[…] Is Graduating?? (Mame & Friends) Takahashi Ai to Graduate Autumn 2011 (Morningtime) How do you ruin a year? (Nights4Blogging) A bit more on Takahashi Ai’s […]

4. Sylvia - January 28, 2011

Okay, I know that I’m playing devil’s advocate here, but I’m actually excited for Ai. She’s been in the group for almost ten years now, and is nearly 25. I would not like to see her have to stay in MM forever. I think she has so much potential and would love to see her become a soloist within UpFront or maybe see her transfer to a company like Avex like Maki. Sure, I’ll be sad to see her leave, but for me, graduation is like a transition. It makes me sad, but it makes me happy to see my favorite idols progress after they leave MM.

Nights4Saturn - January 29, 2011

Thanks for the comment Sylvia!

Ahh, I know you’re right, I was just really upset about the announcement when I wrote this.

I too would like to see her become a soloist as she certainly as the voice to do so. I don’t think I would be too thrilled if she jumped ship to Avex as I haven’t exactly been blown away by Gocchin’s progress with them, but Ai wouldn’t have to leave behind her own catalog of songs in the transition so it might be able to work.


Leave a Reply

