jump to navigation

Beverage Commercial Shocker! December 31, 2010

Posted by Nights4Saturn in Hello! Project, Jpop, Matsuura Aya.
Tags: , ,
trackback

That’s right boys and girls a beverage commercial shocker! How shocking can a beverage commercial be, you might ask? Well, I’d imagine at least moderately shocking or even “exceedingly tingly,” but that’s not really the point…

Now, for you guys that may not be aware Matsuura Aya used to be the image girl for the Gogo no Kocha brand of ice tea. This lasted from 2003 to 2007, and even resulted in the single “Ki ga Tsukeba Anata.”

Here’s the first commercial to feature “Ki ga Tsukeba Anata”

Pleasant little commercial there, no? This series of cm’s always reminded me a little bit of a miniature movie, with their rather high production values and implied plots.

So, sometime a little before Christmas I was bumbling around on Youtube and happened to stumble across this Chinese language beverage commercial:

I was immediately hit with the sense that I had somehow seen this commercial before, which I then realized was because this is nearly exactly the same as the Gogo no Kocha commercial above! There are far too many eerie similarities for this to be a simple coincidence, just take a look for yourself at the comparison I’ve done down below:

Similar collegiate style lecture hall.

Waking the sleeping boyfriend with a cold beverage to the cheek, who then dramatically jumps up.

I will say this, at least the Chinese boyfriend character was trying to pay attention in class with his textbook. Take a look at what Aya's boyfriend was doing: reading comics! What a slacker!

Beverages in ice water! This shot is to emphasize how cool and refreshing these drinks are, and thus make you thirsty and want to buy them.

Let's go somewhere with wind blowing in our hair! Excitement! Notice how the spacial arrangements of the characters are the exact same between the two commercials, and that both the boyfriend characters shout.

Uncomfortable physical contact!

A forlorn glance, what intrigue!

Another forlorn glance, double the intrigue!

The real kicker for me though is that both commercials end with the main character shouting off into the ocean/large body of water that I assume the bridge in the Chinese commercial is built over. I always thought this was an odd way to end the commercial in Aya’s version (though I do imagine it shows her venting her frustration, albeit still an odd ending) and to see the exact same ending in the Chinese version is just frosting on the cake.

But hey, if you’re going to copy a commercial you might as well copy a good one right?😀



I want to give a quick congratulations to S/mileage for winning best new artist at the 52nd Annual Japan Record Awards! The fact that those girls managed to beat out much more mainstream and popular groups is a great accomplishment! Good job girls!

I also want to wish you all a happy and prosperous 2011! May the new year be a good one!

Comments»

1. clocutron - January 1, 2011

Wow, that’s more than eerie similarities, it’s just a blatant rip-off. Congrats on spotting that. Reminds me a bit of the k-pop group Orange Caramel’s Mabeop Sonyeo – the chorus is a complete rip of C-ute’s Hare no Platinum Doori. I guess it’s getting harder to come up with something original (or just easier to steal ideas from someone else).

Happy New Year to you too, Nights. Hope you had a great holiday season. Looking forward to seeing your blog continue in 2011.

Nights4Saturn - January 2, 2011

I actually had “knockoffs” included in the original set of tags for this article, lol. I kind of wish they would have taken it one step further and actually included a Chinese cover of “Ki ga Tsukeba Anata,” that would have been pretty neat. =\

Yeah, I remember that being on the Hello!Online front page a while back. I find it a bit interesting that while it might be easier now-a-days to steal ideas from somebody else, it’s a whole heck of a lot harder to get away with it. Heck, you, as an American, are aware that a Korean domestically released pop song sounds incredibly similar to a Japanese domestically released pop song. I don’t think such a situation would have been even remotely as likely to occur 15 years ago.

Thanks for the holiday wishes, I hope yours was nice as well! Gah, I can’t believe it’s all already over!
I should be able to keep up with at least a post a week like I’ve been doing so far. I imagine SOMETHING might happen this week worth writing about…😉

Oh, and congrats (and thanks) on making my blog’s 100th comment! ^^

2. Comercial de Matsuura Aya copiado en China | TechnOtaku - January 23, 2011

[…] ser genial, de verdad creo que todos y cada uno de sus trabajos de cualquier tipo.Nights4Saturn escribió en su blog esta comparación del video anterior con un comercial chino que encontró viendo videos en youtube. […]

3. Takoyaki - July 18, 2011

I keep wondering how did you discover this Chinese CM…
You must be a Gogo no Kocha stalker! lol

Nights4Saturn - July 18, 2011

I’ve been called worse things…😛

Honestly, I have no idea how I found it either lol. I am impressed though that you actually found out who that actress was!

Takoyaki - July 19, 2011

Hehehe

Among all the videos related on youtube, I noticed it was the same girl and I also noticed her nickname was often written by her fans in the titles and comments.🙂


Leave a Reply

