jump to navigation

The Twelve Days of Tsunku-mas: Aitai Lonely Christmas December 14, 2010

Posted by Nights4Saturn in C-ute, Hello! Project, Jpop.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Yes, that’s right. The Twelve Days of Tsunkumas. Yeah, I know the name is really, really lame, but work with me a bit here.

On everyday leading up to Christmas expect a new holiday related Hello! Project song and/or performance. Now, it’s true that the twelve days of Christmas are supposed to start on the twenty-sixth of December, but where’s the fun in counting down to the sixth of January?

So, let’s get started!

On the first day of Tsunkumas, my true love gave to me C-ute’s “Aitai Lonely Christmas” (会いたいロンリークリスマス):

Even though I want to see you, even though I miss you
Hey, I want to see your face just a little bit
Will I be able to spend Christmas with you I wonder?
This is the first time I felt like this

The time I spend talking to you on the phone right,
it’s become shorter little by little
Why am I such a coward
For some reason I can only wait

I’m only, only lonely even though I’m deceiving, I like you, I like you
Even when I try to forget about you, I like you I like you I like you
But convince me in that way to
believe and I’ll wait for you

Even though I miss you, without opening my mouth,
I shut off my phone last night
Even though I smile
as I buy a Christmas present, I’m sad

Even though I said it was nothing
It got out to my mum a little it seemed
The truth is that I want to open up and cry
What should I do?

I’m only in a horrible place
Even though I try to sum up all of my energy, it’s impossible, it’s impossible
All of you is precious to me, I like you, I like you, I like you
But you know, it’s really difficult and I get weak when the phone rings at those times

Even though I want to see you, even though I miss you
Hey, I want to see your face just a little bit
Will I be able to spend Christmas with you I wonder?
This is the first time I felt like this

I just miss you, I just miss you, I just miss you! It’s just that I just miss you
It’ll be ok if I could try and be spoiled by you for just a small time of Christmas

Even though I want to see you, even though I miss you
Hey, I want to see your face just a little bit
Will I be able to spend Christmas with you I wonder?
This is the first time I felt like this

Translated lyrics by risusaTEN

This is easily the newest song I’ll be featuring, and I must say I really do love that promotional video. The somber white aesthetic really adds to the tone of the song, and I think it’s a great combination. Also, in the several scenes where you can make out Christmas lights, they’re always in the background and slightly blurred out, giving an almost haunting separation between the assumed happiness of Christmas and the emotional state that the song conveys. The slowly blinking colored lights on the indoor tree do this particularly well.

I also want to make a remark about how good all of the C-ute girls look in their winter outfits. I really like Maimi’s sweater, it just looks so natural, an odd thing to say about a Hello! Project costume. I was going to make a comment about how they all looked great without showing that much skin, until I realized that everyone save for Nacky was either in a miniskirt, short-shorts or a minidress. All totally appropriate, nay mandatory, snowy weather attire.

Comments»

1. hacky - December 14, 2010

just as i thought this song is romantic (TT_TT. one of my favorite C-ute’s song


Leave a Reply

